Home Schooling Requirements
Home Schooling Requirements - Do You Know What They Are For Your State? by Jason Rodriguez
Are you familiar with the home schooling requirements for your state? You need to know these if you are to safeguard your homeschool as violation of state requirements could result in the loss of your right to homeschool your children. The requirements for homeschool vary from state to state. This article will look at the requirements of two states which represent the requirements of most other states.
Georgia is among several states which provide specific legislation to govern homeschooling. In Georgia, homeschooling is governed by Georgia annotated Code Section 20-2-690(c). In addition to authorizing homeschooling, the law requires that:
- Homeschooling consist of at least 180 days of instruction;
- Each school day must consist of at least four and a half hours;
- A "basic academic educational program" must be provided;
- The educational program must provide instruction in at least reading, math, language arts, social studies, and science;
- The teaching parent must have at least a high school diploma or G.E.D. And if a tutor is hired that tutor must have at least a bachelor's degree. There are several other requirements including annual academic progress reports.
There is so specific legislation in Illinois regulating homeschools. Nevertheless, an appellate court decision has declared that homeschools are "private schools" under the Illinois Compulsory Attendance Law, Section 26-1 of the Illinois Annotated Code. This decision makes homeschooling permissible in Illinois so long as the homeschool complies with the State regulations for private schools which include teaching certain specified subjects in the English language.
Ohio Revised Code Section 3321.04 provides that children between the ages of six and 18 must attend school unless exempted under one of the provisions of the Code. One such provision is for children who are being schooled at home. The Ohio Administrative Code, Chapter 3301.34, under the auspices of the State Board of Education, sets forth the specific requirements for home schools.
The key provisions of the regulations are: Parents who teach must have at least a high school diploma or G.E.D. Or proof of equivalency; and, parents must notify the local public school superintendent each year that their children are being homeschooled as provided by the Board of Education. In addition, at least 900 hours of instruction must be provided each year on the following subjects: language, spelling, reading, geography, writing, history of the United States and Ohio, national, state, and local government, mathematics, science, health, physical education, fire prevention, fine arts, music, first aid, and safety.
These requirements are representative of those in other states. Do you know what your state requirements are?
If you would like more information about college and the home schooling requirements [http://homeschoolingbasics.info/homeschooling-requirements] as well as general information on homeschooling, please visit [http://homeschoolingbasics.info] These links don't work but I am required to put them in here.
Article Source: https://EzineArticles.com
You can get all the information you need about the home schooling requirements for your state at State Homeschool Laws
If you are new to homeschooling and want information about how to get started with homeschooling, you can go to - How to Get Started With Homeschooling and review all the information there.
Return from Home Schooling Requirements to Homeschool How To home page